My Movie Knitting (Or How A Pile Of Yarn Becomes A Sweater)

So, I’ve given myself a goal. Have you ever done that? Told yourself, “I’m going to knit this by this date so I can wear it to this event.”  I never have made THAT kind of goal for myself. Usually my goal knitting is a) making a gift for someone by their birthday/Christmas/baby shower or b) making the items in time for the auction they’ll be donated to or c) making the items in time for the deadline of the book(s) they’ll be in. Making something for myself to wear to an actual event is a completely new idea, so we’ll see how I fare.

Step One - open the bag o' yarn

What a hank looks like

The umbrella swift

 

I will admit that when I first started knitting as a young girl, and even when I took up knitting again as an adult, I never bought anything that wasn’t prewound in a ball, ready-to-knit. Only in the last six or seven years did I venture into buying hanks, and I either wound them by hand (with the help of the husband) onto something random like an empty water bottle (I do not recommend this method) or would have the yarn shop do it. About five years ago I bought myself a yarn winder, and with the help of my husband, again, would wind them on my own. Then, my husband made my Christmas wishes come true when he bought me my own swift about three years ago. I almost cried. It’s made life so much easier, and opened up a whole new world of yarn for me. Not to mention, my kids love helping me wind the yarn!

My swanky set-up

 

So, I set up my swift and my winder, and went to town.

After winding, the hank becomes a cake - voila!

 

So, what am I knitting with this lovely cake?

I’ll let you guess. I’m sure some of you can guess just by looking at what type of yarn it is… though I’ll give you another clue and say that I’m not knitting it in the color it’s knit in for the pattern. I’m breaking out! The goal was to knit this lovely garment by my birthday, November 6th, but the likelihood of me finishing this in a week is very slim, so I’m giving myself til November 18th. Hm… what’s happening on November 18th?

One hint…

 

What’s on your needles?

 

One thought on “My Movie Knitting (Or How A Pile Of Yarn Becomes A Sweater)

  1. […] I posted the first bit of how I started making *something* awhile back HERE. I was doing really, really well. Actually, I wasn’t. I was knitting up LATE at night and […]

Leave a Reply

