Now that the book has been out for a whole week, let’s start looking at the designs a bit more carefully.

Let’s start with the Ballerina Fairy Tutu & Wand.

I was inspired to make a tutu pattern after spending many hours at my daughters’ dance studio. The littlest girls in the preschool class are allowed (and encouraged) to bring skirts or tutus. They do the class in just leotard and tights and then for the last 5 minutes they put on their tutus and dance around like crazy little fairies. I love it!

The yarn I used for the top of the wand and the ruffles in the skirt is Crystal Palace Tutu.  It’s knit through the top of it, shown here:

Screen Shot 2014-02-14 at 1.23.07 PM

 

Screen Shot 2014-02-14 at 1.23.43 PM

 

Because the sections of yarn are so wide (almost 1″), the Tutu ruffles up nicely. The base yarn (Knitpicks Gloss) is really soft and it’s a quick and easy knit. Perfect for any girl who loves to wear something with a little extra “umph.”

I think maybe I’ll work on a doll-sized version of this. If I do, I’ll make sure to post it, like I did the Werewolf Hat.

Screen Shot 2014-02-04 at 11.40.38 AM

 

Screen Shot 2014-02-04 at 11.40.49 AM

 

 

 

One thought on “

  1. Megan-Anne says:

    This was actually one of my favorites from the book!

Leave a Reply

