Needle Arts on Vacation

So, every time we go on vacation, I usually bring some knitting.

Gracie, knitting on the way to San Francisco.

Gracie, knitting on the way to San Francisco.

Knitting on the way to San Francisco.

Knitting on the way to San Francisco.

 

Knitting on the plane home from Orlando.

Knitting on the plane home from Orlando.

I’ve also knit in vacation- literally. This is the Hoh Rainforest in Washington.

knit hoh

The last two weeks we’ve been on vacation. I brought my knitting, but sadly only worked on it for a very small amount of time. Maybe that says something about how busy we were. 🙂

My daughter also brought some knitting. And we visited the local knit shop, The Websters (who by the way carry “Once Upon A Knit”), and she taught herself a new skill. Needle felting!

I bought her a kit and she started the minute we got back to the hotel room.

I bought her a kit and she started the minute we got back to the hotel room.

She made the penguin from the kit, but added wings and feet (which were not in the instructions).

She made the penguin from the kit, but added wings and feet (which were not in the instructions).

She made another.

She made another.

She finished and wanted to do more, but was out of most of her roving, so we went back and bought more, plus a book, and she made a dog, and started a shark on the ride home.

I would get carsick, I think.

I would get carsick, I think.

She made this shark on our ride home. Everything but the teeth, which were added that night!

Shark!!

Shark!!

So while we both did some knitting, the big thing for this trip was needle felting. Who knows what we’ll do on our next trip… I’m thinking we might learn to spin wool!

Leave a Reply

