Geek Knits

This week Joan of Dark’s new knitting book dropped. GEEK KNITS!

You may remember her last book – Knits for Nerds.

This new book is similar. It’s filled with patterns inspired by Dr. Who, Comics, Gaming, Trek, and other fandoms. I attempted two patterns that didn’t really work. Then I got inspired, and came up with this.

Two years ago, my family got heavy into Star Trek. I wore this costume on Halloween 2013 and used a red cross-body bag for a purse, but it didn’t really look great. And then it hit me.

IMG_0043

Make my own purse that goes with the dress! It’s called “Communicator Purse” which is not my name for it, but it’s fine. I’m assuming the publishers changed it because publishers are like that… they don’t always have the best ideas. Like when they told me my Rampion Scarf was “too esoteric.” But that’s okay.

If I weren’t such a geek it wouldn’t bother me. But it does. It’s a tricorder, not a communicator. My kids noticed it right away. A communicator is like a phone. A tricorder is a medical tool among other things.

But I digress.

It doesn’t matter what it’s called. It matters that it looks like something right out of Old School Trek. It looks like something Bones would wear when he calls out, “He’s dead, Jim!”

IMG_0041

I lined it with cute Trek fabric.IMG_0042

I sewed on fake buttons and a fake screen.IMG_0044

It’s got a magnetic snap closure.IMG_0045

And little Kirk likes to play inside. šŸ™‚

There are lots of great patterns in Geek Knits, as well as cameos of real celebrities modeling some of the items.

Run to your local book or knitting store and pick up a copy. Feel free to come back here and tell me what you think!

One thought on “Geek Knits

  1. […] have several t-shirts. I listen to podcasts. I have an Enterprise coffee mug. I designed my own Tricorder Purse, and of course I have my own Trek […]

Leave a comment